Tim and Amanda, Parc Guell, Barcelona, January 2012.

Tim being inducted into the Order of Canada
by His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston,
at Rideau Hall, September 28, 2012

Blink & Caution wins 2012 Arthur Ellis Award

The winners of the 2012 Arthur Ellis Awards have been announced. Tim Wynne-Jones takes home the prize for best juvenile/YA crime book for his novel, Blink & Caution. Rich characterization, well-crafted language, intriguing use of voice, and a compelling plot make Blink and Caution an intense yet enjoyable story that’s hard to put down. Pacing and tension build steadily through the first half of the book, creating a strong connection with the reader. An uplifting conclusion gives us hope for the future of the two main characters, Blink and Caution.

The awards, established in 1984 and named after the nom de travail of Canada's official hangman, are for crime writing, and they are not restricted to mystery writing. Crime-writing encompasses far more than the traditional whodunit. The crime genre includes crime, detective, espionage, mystery, suspense, and thriller writing, as well as fictional or factual accounts of criminal doings and crime-themed literary works. For a complete list of winners, visit crimewriterscanada.com.

IBBY Canada
announces Canadian nominees for
Hans Christian Andersen Awards:
author Tim Wynne-Jones
and illustrator Stéphane Jorisch

IBBY Canada is pleased to announce that children’s author Tim Wynne-Jones and illustrator Stéphane Jorisch are Canada’s nominees for the 2012 international Hans Christian Andersen Awards.

Announced every two years, the Hans Christian Andersen Awards are internationally recognized as the highest honour for children's authors and illustrators. The Andersen Awards, known as the “little Nobel,” were established in 1956 to recognize authors and illustrators around the world who have made a lasting and significant contribution to literature for children and young people.

A jury of Canadian children’s book experts selected Tim Wynne-Jones and Stéphane Jorisch as Canada’s nominees for the Hans Christian Andersen Awards. The jury consisted of Sarah Ellis, librarian, children's literature professor, critic, and writer; Dr. Aida Hudson, Children's Literature professor, University of Ottawa; Patricia Lemieux, Director of the Candiac library, former Quebec councillor at IBBY Canada, and former librarian heading the children’s section at BanQ; and Josiane Polidori, Head, Children's Literature, Library and Archives Canada, and former President of IBBY Canada.

The jury’s comments on Tim Wynne-Jones, the nominated author: “Tim Wynne-Jones’s writing is lyrical, prose poetry that challenges the “wizard” he believes is in every reader. His works delve into the trials and tribulations of children who live on the edge, because of family troubles, tumultuous happenings, or psychological trauma. Tim Wynne-Jones is also an editor, a fine literary critic, a masterful teacher of creative writing, and a writer’s writer, mentoring some of the leading children’s authors in Canada.” A selected list of Tim Wynne-Jones’s books follows.

The jury’s comments on Stéphane Jorisch, the nominated illustrator: “Stéphane Jorisch’s flowing style veers between reality and imagination, punctuated with luminous and poetic backgrounds, and full of emotion, inventiveness and whimsical details. He uses pencil drawings, ink, watercolour, gouache and paintbrush to interpret classics, poetry, and original illustrated stories both in French and in English. The talent of Stéphane Jorisch has been recognized by many prestigious prizes in Canada.” A selected list of Stéphane Jorisch’s books follows.

IBBY Canada is one of over 70 national sections within the International Board on Books for Young People. Each national section is invited to nominate candidates for the Hans Christian Andersen Awards, presented every other year. An international jury, comprised of 10 children’s literature experts around the world, will meet to make their selection, taking the complete work of the nominees into consideration, while adjudicating books on literary and artistic criteria. The Andersen Awards will be presented to the winners at the IBBY Congress in London, England in August 2012.

Previous Canadian nominees for the Hans Christian Andersen Awards include Brian Doyle, Pierre Pratt, Marie Louise Gay, Christiane Duchesne, Dennis Lee, Michèle Lemieux, Ian Wallace, Jean Little, Gilles Tibo, Monica Hughes, Phillipe Beha, Laszlo Gal, and Eric Beddows.

IBBY, the International Board on Books for Young People, founded in 1953, represents an international network of people committed to bringing books and children together. IBBY Canada is one of over 70 national sections worldwide. IBBY Canada is a volunteer organization promoting quality French and English Canadian children's literature nationally and internationally. For more information, please visit www.ibby-canada.org.

The tumbling monsters on my nameplate above are adapted from the cover of Tumbledown Hill, and used here with many thanks to the artist Dušan Petričič.
(Not to be confused with
boring old, ho-hum news)

I've been thinking a lot about rewrites. Let's face it, we do more rewriting than writing. The results of all that thinking can be found in Ten questions to ask a revision

Read Tim's occasional contributions to the Vermont College blog "Write at your own risk."

The Order of Canada.
On Friday, December 30th, 2011 The Governor General announced the list of Order of Canada recipients and I'm proud to say I've been made an officer. There was one companion named, Paul Martin, 28 officers including Stuart McLean and Scotty Bowman, and 37 members. Although I'm an officer there isn't a uniform; so, sad to say, no epaulets or sash (so much for my Boy George aspirations). But I do get a beautiful insignia medallion and this truly fabulous honour.

Blink & Caution wins the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award for 2011!read


Click on the "Contact" button and scrolling down to "Appearances" to find out where I’m going to be in 2013. Hope I get to see you.

Website by Dunn Sohn Designs